All-state football roundup

Damir Karapandzic of Danville and Trey Yeager of Boyle County were named to all-state football teams that have been announced in the past few days.

Karapandzic, a kicker, was voted to The Associated Press All-State first team released last week. Yeager was voted to The Courier-Journal All-State first team released earlier this week as a defensive lineman.

Karapandzic was the only player from an Advocate-area school recognized on the AP team. None were voted to the second team or received honorable mention. (Last year’s AP voting recognized six local players.)

In addition to Yeager, eight other local players were recognized in The Courier-Journal voting:

  • Second team offense — Michael Jones, Danville, lineman; Blake Mason, Boyle County, tight end; Andrew Wilks, Lincoln County, lineman.
  • Second team defense — Garrett Caudill, Garrard County, linebacker.
  • Honorable mention offense — Alex Bolin, Casey County, running back; Damir Karapandzic, Danville, kicker; Tyler Padgett, Casey County, lineman.
  • Honorable mention defense — Jordan Elery, Mercer County, linebacker.

The AP team is selected through balloting of AP member sports writers and sportscasters across Kentucky. The Courier-Journal team is chosen through balloting of coaches statewide.

The Lexington Herald-Leader’s Class of the Commonwealth, a list of 22 top seniors statewide, did not include any area players. The only major team still unannounced is the team, expected to be released later this month.

Leave a Reply

WP Login